Death of the 2009 White Sox

I am declaring the White Sox dead for this season. I see no life. I see nothing that resembles a major league baseball team. I see bull-headed manager afraid to change his core lineup. I am sick of strike outs. I am sick of watching  over-matched hitters watching strikes right over the heart of the plate, then weakly swinging at some ball in the dirt or out of the strike zone. Instead of improvement, I only see regression. I love Jim Thome, but could he please tell us which day is his once a week so we could get someone in there on his “off” nights. Josh Fields and Dwayne Wise are so overmatched at the plate, they need to take a summer off and go play  somewhere else. I only was able to watch the last three innings of today’s Tiger loss, but the total fielding collapse by Josh Fields and Alexei Ramirez were purely unprofessional. This is the big leagues, not little league. Ramirez is very undisciplined in both the field and at the plate. We cannot win with sub-major league players at third base, shortstop and center field. We cannot win with the triumvirate of Dye, Thome and Konerko alway batting together, hitting into double plays, or causing three or four hits to be required to score when the rare home run is not hit. And none of these three hit one with runners on base. They are masters of the solo home run. We have to change the lineup and spread them out in the order just to take advantage of one of their rare hits because we gotta wait for six flailing batters to bat before they come up again. Ozzie says he likes his team. Well it is beyond hard to agree with him. I know every team has bad times, but this is a recurring illness that is making us fans ill. If we were getting some hits, running around the bases like other teams do, I would not be so pessimistic. But all I see is strikeouts and ground outs over and over and over. Since they refuse to show even a sign of life. I am declaring them dead for this year.

Leave a Reply

